PATIALA: It is one of the main royal cities of the India and was founded by Baba Ala Singh, on February 12, 1763, when he laid the foundation stone of Qila Mubarak. It was ruled by ancestor of incumbent chief minister of Punjab, Captain Amarinder Singh. His father Maharaja Bhupinder Singh and Maharaja Yadvindera Singh were main rulers.

Qila Mubarak

Maharaja Bhupindra Singh had given Patiala a prominent place in politics and in the field of sports. Big architectural designs were constructed during his time. Patiala remained the principal capital of during Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU), which had eight princely states including Patiala, Jind, Kapurthala, Nabha, Faridkot, Malerkotla, Kalsia and Nalagarh. The PEPSU was disbanded in 1956. Presently, it is known as political capital of Punjab, as Punjab CM Captain Amarinder Singh, who is also MLA from Patiala, has his residence New Moti Bagh palace in Patiala. During delimitation process, it has been divided into parts — Urban and Rural. The rural segment is represented by cabinet minister Brahm Mohindra.

Sheesh Mahal

Location: It is one situated in southern part of Punjab and has five tehsils including Patiala. Others included Samana, Rajpura, Patran and Nabha. It has three sub-tehsils including Bhadson, Dudhan Sadhan and Bhunerheri.